New Geek on the Block
Technology, Sci-Fi, Gadgets, & Geekery.

Thanksgiving Recipe

Unlike the majority of Americans I did not get to spend my day watching football and filling my face with turkey and beer (in fact I actually don’t like any of those things, except the beer), because I’m Canadian, which means today is completely meaningless. But the not stop train of tweets about Thanksgiving got me in the mood for some at home comfort food, so I decided to steal something from my mother’s repertoire.

When I was still living at home my mother would make “Cheesy Chicken Casserole” and it was delicious. But now that I no longer consume the flesh of the living (or recently living I suppose) I had to make some slight modifications to her recipe. Here is what I was able to concoct.

Cheesy Not-Chicken Casserole

  • 2 cups diced fake chicken (I used “Veggie Patch Meatless Buffalo Wings” cut into small strips, but you could just as easily use TVP, or tofu).
  • 1 8 oz pkg. of uncooked macaroni.
  • 1 can of cream of mushroom (or celery or broccoli soup).
  • 1 cup broth (you can get vegetable oxo cubes).
  • 1 cup grated cheese (I probably used about 4 cups of cheese).
  • 1 onion, diced.
  • 1/2 cup diced celery.

Saute the celery, onion, and fake chicken. Partially cook the macaroni and set aside. In a large bowl mix the soup, broth, and grated cheese. Once the celery, onions and fake chicken are sufficiently cooked mix into the large bowl. Combine all ingredients in a large buttered (I use margarine) casserole dish and cook for 25 minutes on 425.

[NOTE: I haven’t been completely honest. I was given these measurements by my mother, but I didn’t measure anything. Firstly I don’t own any measuring tools (except a measuring cup, which I mostly ignore), if you are lazy like I am just go ahead and eyeball those ingredients.]

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving Recipe”

  1. You neglected to mention the reason for your sudden burst of domesticity: our dear friend Reed’s White Trash American Thanksgiving Party. I just sent Bryan out to get us some terrible beer (Lucky or possibly Pabst Blue Ribbon: anything that comes in a tall boy can)

    (We made Mac n’ Cheese — from scratch, bitches. And followed the recipe almost to the letter… except we added extra cheese and used garlic flavoured croutons to make the delicious crusty-osity, instead of lame old breadcrumbs)

  2. Measurements are for suckers.

  3. Also, Don’t speak ill of PBR, it doesn’t even belong in the same sentence as Lucky.


Leave a Reply

