New Geek on the Block
Technology, Sci-Fi, Gadgets, & Geekery.

New Star Trek Trailer Leaked

I was skeptical about watching this trailer online because I didn’t want to spoil it for myself. I’d really like to see it in the actual theater, but I haven’t been to a movie in months and I doubt I’ll actually see Quantum of Solace anytime soon.

New Star Trek Trailer

It is somewhat off putting that their are cars in the 23rd century, especially an American muscle car like the one you see Kirk recklessly driving in the trailer. And depending on what you consider canon cars were practically unheard of to the people of the future. In Enterprise, the crew of the NX-01 discover an old Chevy truck in space (I can’t remember why it was in space, but none the less they find it) and Trip is the only person who actually knows what it is, and how it works. He has to explain what a combustion engine is! But apparently I’m the only one who actually liked Enterprise and consider it to be actual canon in the Star Trek universe.

3 Responses to “New Star Trek Trailer Leaked”

  1. The car thing is in Voyager too – Paris has to explain to everyone what an engine is.

    It remains to be seen how this will come along. I’m hoping for a ‘Dark Knight’ style rework, and less of an original ‘The Incredible Hulk’.

    Oh, and BTW, I -loved- Enterprise.

  2. Hmmm.. I could just be mistaken, perhaps that only happened in Voyager. If that’s the case than it might make sense that they had cars in Kirk’s time.
    I still think that it’s weird, especially seen as gas is becoming more expensive and the environment is such a huge issues. I foresee that in our lifetimes we will see the transition to a different, more sustainable form of transportation.

  3. I agree, the car thing is a bit weird, but to play creative-devil’s advocate… perhaps the pre-teen Kirk has stolen it from a museum? He seems pretty cocky to that cop, so i am wondering if he is pulling off some daring move to intentionally get caught? (When I think ballsy, I think driving the only remaining 300 year old Corvette over a cliff.)

    When it gets right down to it though, I have NEVER felt that this movie was going to belong to the same universe that we all grew up with. I bet it will be a fun and interesting story, but it likely wont feel… the same.


Leave a Reply

