New Geek on the Block
Technology, Sci-Fi, Gadgets, & Geekery.

To Jailbreak or Not To Jailbreak

Even though Steve Jobs so generously allowed iPhone users the ability to install and run 3rd party apps with the upgrade to iPhone firmware 2.0 some still crave things that Steve is unwilling to offer (customaziable icons/wallpaper/themes, podcatching apps, background processes, better camera functionality, etc). For these things one must turn to the jailbroken apps that some developers have chosen to make available through Installer.app and Cydia Installer.

When I first got my iPod Touch I dabbled in the early hacks available (pre firmware 2.0). But once 2.0 and the App Store were released I decided I had little use for running a jailbroken iPod/iPhone (I’ve since upgraded to an iPhone). But now that’s it’s been a while, I have begun to miss the custom features my old jailbroken iPod had, and I’ve seen some need things from Cydia, such as the Dock Prefs feature, which adds some very slick app switching/launching features.

So alas I took the plunge and jailbroke my phone using PwnageTool. However after installing Winterboard things started going apeshit. First the Rogers and 3G icons disappeared from the menu bar, and the battery indicator would contantly read 10% power (even when I had my iPhone synced to iTunes). Then when I tried making a phone call I discovered that the phone app would crash immediately after being launch, making my iPhone completely useless as a phone. I tried uninstalling Winterboard, along with some of the other extensions/apps I installed, but nothing worked.

It’s been two hours now and I’m in the middle of restoring my iPhone to the previous “Official” firmware. I’m kind of sad that I won’t get to run some of the features I was begining to really enjoy, but oh well, even without the jailbroken features it’s still the coolest, most fully featured phone I’ve ever used.

5 Responses to “To Jailbreak or Not To Jailbreak”

  1. Hey. I had some issues with my 3g phone while jailbreaking. I’d recommend using QuickPwn (I believe there is a windows version), as it seems to be the most stable from my research. You may also want to restore to factory defaults before you try it. It kind of sucks, since you can’t restore a backup though.

    When I jailbroke my phone, it froze at the Apple Logo, and I had to restore as I did not do that before trying to jailbreak. Once I did though, and re-jailbroke it – it worked fine. I’ve also heard of some issues with Winterboard.. I’m not sure if having the themes is worth the troubles. Your mileage may vary of course.. but what you might want to do is restore, jailbreak, install winterboard, and if you get the problems, just restore to a backup.


    blog.shockwaver.org

  2. I’m probably going to stick with having a non jailbroken phone. Like you said customizations itself isn’t really worth it, and other than a lot of eye candy I didn’t see anything that really blew my mind that wasn’t available from the App Store.

  3. Jailbird

  4. Jailbird penischeeks?

  5. My jailbroken iPhone just rebooted in DFU mode. Had to unjailbreak to get out of it.
    That might be a reason not to jailbreak.


Leave a Reply

