New Geek on the Block
Technology, Sci-Fi, Gadgets, & Geekery.

CrossOver Chromium Brings Google Chrome to OS X (sort of).

I was excited when I saw an article on Lifehacker about Chrome for Mac OS X, earlier today, however it turned out to be a port of the Windows version of Chrome. CrossOver is insisting that the port is simply a proof of concept, and is not meant to be used a a full time browser. I’m not sure why they needed a proof of concept, after all Chrome was built on WebKit, the open source engine that also fuels Apple’s Safari browser. But despite my reservations, the geek, and earlier adopter in me screamed, “I NEED TO TRY THIS”.

Which is exactly what I’m doing at this very moment.

First thing after downloading and installing CrossOver Chromium, I directed it to a couple of my regular sites, in hopes of seeing how it displays pages (looking at text, images, video, style sheets, etc.) I also checked out this very site, and noticed that it doesn’t display the embeded video at all.

In browser animations seem a little laggy, although loading pages is fast enough (haven’t done any tests because I figure the fact that it’s a port might slow it down anyways).

I enjoy the simplicity of Chrome’s UI. The exterior tabs don’t bother me a bit, nor do any of the other ethestetic (or lack thereof) features. The biggest peeve I have with Chromium is that it is the Windows version. As seen in the screenshot I took, the minimize window, and close window buttons are on the upper right side (as opposed to left, where they would be on an OS X app), the side scrollbar is also the Windows styled version. These are very minor visual differences, but they remind me that it is only a port, not a full blown OS X version.

I’m hoping that Google releases the official version soon, because I would definately use Chrome on a regular basis. And if it adds support for Delicious and a few other plugins I would consider using it as my full-time browser.

I’m not sure why Chrome hasn’t been released for Mac already, it seems like it would have been easier to release it that way first seen as WebKit is a Mac project, but Google is obviously going after Internet Explorer as it’s main adversary in the browser war.

3 Responses to “CrossOver Chromium Brings Google Chrome to OS X (sort of).”

  1. i keep learning about more and more little advantages and quirks with Chrome, with security, for example; now if only they would take care of it’s cookie management glitches…

  2. The last thing I want is to have to deal with another browser to develop for :/

  3. @chad: luckily Chrome is using webkit, if your site work in safari, it should work in chrome.

    —-
    I think the UI is pretty agnostic, It’ll be interesting to see what they change for the Mac port of chrome.


Leave a Reply

