New Geek on the Block
Technology, Sci-Fi, Gadgets, & Geekery.

Quest For The Perfect App Part II

The other day I wrote about my trouble finding a decent To Do app for the iPhone/iPod Touch, today my gripe is with news readers.
I currently have the New York Times, Net News Wire, Google Reader and Mobile News installed on my iPod. All share the same problem, the inability to download stories in advance so that they can be accessed when wifi isn’t an option, or if you don’t want to keep using expensive 3G or Edge data.
I think Google Reader has come the closest, when online it’s an excellent RSS reader, I just wish they had an App Store version that had a “Download Todays News” button.
Say you’re getting ready in the morning before work, you could open Reader hit download news and let it do its thing for a few minutes, then later on while you’re communting to work you can have all your news, undisturbed.
So if anyone working on Google reader, or any of the current readers reads this, make it happen: I really don’t want to have to learn programming and do it myself.

[UPDATE] I just purchased iRSS Mobile and so far I’m very pleased with it. It allows you to add as many feeds as you like which are downloaded and readable when offline. iRSS is available from the App Store for $3.99

No Responses to “Quest For The Perfect App Part II”

Leave a Reply

