New Geek on the Block
Technology, Sci-Fi, Gadgets, & Geekery.

The Best Firefox Add-ons

firefoxSo I’ve been testing out Firefox 3 ever since it came out a couple of days ago and have started playing around with some of the add-ons available for it. Firefox as most people know is highly customizable, which is one of the reasons it’s so popular. But after wadeing through many of the add-ons you start to realize their are a lot of crappy and useless extensions. It took me a while to find the right combination of add-ons to be truly happy and able to get the most out of Firefox 3, so here is my list of the best add-ons available.

– Twitterfox. This twitter client sits in the bottom right corner of the browser window and alerts you when you have a new tweet. When closed it appears only as a small “t” but click on it and it brings up a small interface that allows you to see recent tweets, replies and direct messages. Unlike many apps that run off the Twitter API this one is fast, it updates frequently and I haven’t had any problems with it. I think it might even run smoother than Flocks integrated Twitter sidebar.

– Del.icio.us. bookmark plugin allows you to interact with you online bookmarks more efficently by simply clicking the “Tag” icon when viewing a page you wish to bookmark. A pop up window allows you to enter all the info you would normally record and tag the URL accordingly. It’s very useful if you use Del.icio.us. often.

– Stylish doesn’t do much, but it allows you to add favicons to the bookmark bar instead of just the text as Firefox for OS X would normally display. There really isn’t much to say about Stylish other than it adds a visual aspect to your bookmarks that otherwise wouldn’t be present under the default settings.

– Finally the flashiest and most superfluous add-on for Firefox is PicLens. PicLens adds a coverflowesk interface to sites like Flickr, Youtube, Facebook, Google Images, and others. You can scroll through media like you would in the cover flow view in iTunes, but it also allows you to scroll in to photos, or zoom out to show many photos at once. It’s great if you want a quick way of looking at someones photostream on Flickr, or if your looking to view some random YouTube videos.

All of these add-on can be found by going to Tools -> Add-ons in the Firefox menubar.

3 Responses to “The Best Firefox Add-ons”

  1. Nice list! I will have to try PicLens. I also use Twitterfox, and I love it! It’s simple, it’s clean. . . the only problem I have ever had with it is there are times when it won’t let me type anything in the text box. It’s not enough to make me not like it, though! In fact, it just informed me that you’ve Tweeted (past tense? Twote?) about a biker yelling at a scooterer!

    Some other add-ons that I use are:
    FoxyTunes — It allows you to control iTunes by buttons on the bottom of your browser, including the usual play, stop, pause, back, forward buttons AND up/down, eject, volume control and more. It doesn’t take up a lot of room, and if you have a song playing it also displays the song name and artist. I realize my keyboard can also control iTunes, but it’s nice to be able to see what song you are listening to without having to maximize iTunes. With your giant computer you can probably have both Firefox AND iTunes open side-by-side on the screen though, Greg! It is not the same for my little monitor :( and if I have my hand on my mouse sometimes I just want to keep it there. That’s the height of laziness.

    ForecastFox — You tell it the city in it’s preferences, and it will display the current/Evening/Next Day weather on the bottom of your browser. It updates regularly. You can choose whether [/weather, har har] you would like small icons representing what the weather will be like, if you want actual words & numbers telling you, or both. Choose from Degrees F or Degrees C. There are different sets of icons you can download, too, if you don’t like the look of the sun in the one it comes with. When you hold your mouse over each forecast it will tell you more information (like windspeed). It also has a little green “radar” dot that you can hold your mouse over and it will show you the image over your country so you can watch the clouds coming.

    Flagfox — These all end in fox. How clever. This is only a small app, but I found it interesting so I downloaded it. Basically it uses the IP address of the page you are currently on and displays the flag of the country hosting that site. For example: Facebook is and American flag, SurftheChannel is a Swedish flag. If you hold your mouse over it it simply says “newgeekontheblock.com (76.74.254.125) is in the United States”. Very simple, and it takes up as much space as the Twitterfox T and happens to also reside in the bottom of the browser. I like it because sometimes I am curious!

    I’m also experimenting with Me.dium, which lets you know what sites your friends are on and lets you chat with them etc., but since I know no one else who is on it I haven’t explored it yet.

    WOOT ADD-ONS! This was almost an entry in and of itself! Cheers!

    P.S. WordPress is acting up. This is the third time I have tried to post this. . . good time I learned the first time and copied it after take 2!

  2. Lindsay that was probably the most informative comment ever. It’s basically a blog post in itself.

  3. I didn’t realize how super long it was until I posted it. . . it may actually be longer than your blog post!

    At any rate, I hope you got some more app info out of it, though I’m sure you know about most of them anyways :P

    Cheers!


Leave a Reply

